Wednesday, October 3, 2012

The ITIL Foundation Certificate Syllabus 2011

As promised from my previous post here is the latest ITIL Foundation Syllabus from the itil official site. This should be your guide on what to focus on reading and understanding to pass the exam.

ITILFND01 Service management as a practice
01-1. Describe the concept of best practicesin the public domain
01-2. Describe and explainwhy ITIL is successful
01-3. Define and explain the concept of a service
01-4. Define and explain the concept ofinternal and external customers
01-5. Define and explain the concept of internal and external services
01-6. Define and explain the concept of service management
01-7. Define and explain the concept of IT service management
01-8. Define and explain the concept of stakeholders in service management
01-9. Define processes and functions
01-10. Explain the process model and the characteristics of processes
ITILFND02 The ITIL service lifecycle
02-2. Describe the structure of the ITIL service lifecycle
02-3. Account for the purpose, objectives andscope of SERVICE STRATEGY
02-4. Briefly explain what value service strategy provides to the business
02-5. Account for the purpose, objectives andscope of SERVICE DESIGN
02-6. Briefly explain what value service design provides to the business
02-7. Account for the purpose, objectives andscope of SERVICE TRANSITION
02-8. Briefly explain what value service transition provides to the business
02-9. Account for the purpose, objectives and scope of SERVICE OPERATION
02-10. Briefly explain what value service operation provides to the business
02-11. Account for the main purpose, objectives andscope of CONTINUAL SERVICE IMPROVEMENT
02-12. Briefly explain what value continual service improvement provides to the business
ITILFND03 Generic concepts and definitions
03-1. Utility and warranty
03-2. Assets, resources and capabilities
03-3. Service portfolio
03-4. Service catalogue (both two-view and three-view types)
03-5. Governance
03-6. Business case
03-7. Risk management
03-8. Service provider
03-10. Supplier
03-11. Service level agreement (SLA)
03-12. Operational level agreement (OLA)
03-13. Underpinning contract
03-14. Service design package
03-15. Availability
03-16. Service knowledge management system (SKMS)
03-17. Configuration item (CI)
03-18. Configuration management system
03-19. Definitive media library (DML)
03-20. Change
03-21. Change types (standard, emergency and normal)
03-24. Event
03-25. Alert
03-26. Incident
03-27. Impact, urgency and priority
03-28. Service request
03-29. Problem
03-30. Workaround
03-31. Known error
03-32. Known error database (KEDB)
03-33. The role of communication in service operation
03-35. Release policy
03-36. Types of services
03-37. Change proposals
03-38. CSI register
03-39. Outcomes
03-40. Patterns of business activity
03-41. Customers and users
03-42. The Deming Cycle (plan, do, check, act)
ITILFND04 Key principles and models
  Service strategy
04-2. Describe value creation through services
  Service design
04-3. Understand the importance of people, processes, products and partners for service management
04-4. Understand the five major aspects of service design:
  • Service solutions for new or changed services
  • Management information systems and tools
  • Technology architectures and management architectures
  • The processes required
  • Measurement methods and metrics
  Continual service improvement
04-9. Explain the continual service improvement approach
04-10. Understand the role of measurement for continual service improvement and explain the following key elements:
  • Relationship between critical success factors (CSF) and key performance indicators (KPI)
  • Baselines
  • Types of metrics (technology metrics, process metrics, service metrics)
ITILFND05 Processes
  Service strategy
05-2. State the purpose, objectives and scope for:
05-21. Service portfolio management
  • The service portfolio
05-22. Financial management for IT services
  • Business case
05-23. Business relationship management
  Service design
05-3. Explain the purpose, objectives, scope, basic concepts, process activities and interfaces for:
05-31. Service level management (SLM)
  • Service-based SLA
  • Multi-level SLAs
  • Service level requirements (SLRs)
  • SLA monitoring (SLAM) chart
  • Service review
  • Service improvement plan
  • The relationship between SLM and BRM
05-4. State the purpose, objectives and scope for:
05-41. Service catalogue management
05-42. Availability management
  • Service availability
  • Component availability
  • Reliability
  • Maintainability
  • Serviceability
  • Vital business functions (VBF)
05-43. Information security management (ISM)
  • Information security policy
05-44. Supplier management
  • Supplier categories
05-45. Capacity management
  • Capacity plan
  • Business capacity management
  • Service capacity management
  • Component capacity management
05-46. IT service continuity management
  • Purpose of business impact analysis (BIA)
  • Risk assessment
05-47. Design coordination
  Service transition
05-5. Explain the purpose, objectives, scope, basic concepts, process activities and interfaces for:
05-51. Change management
  • Types of change request
  • Change models
  • Remediation planning
  • Change advisory board / emergency change advisory board
  • Lifecycle of a normal change
05-6. State the purpose, objectives and scope for:
05-61. Release and deployment management
  • Four phases of release and deployment
05-62. Knowledge management
  • Data-to-Information-to-Knowledge-to-Wisdom (DIKW) & SKMS
05-63. Service asset and configuration management (SACM)
05-64. Transition planning and support
  Service operation
05-7. Explain the purpose, objectives, scope, basic concepts, process activities and interfaces for:
05-71. Incident management
05-72. Problem management
05-08. State the purpose, objectives and scope for:
05-81. Event management
05-82. Request fulfilment
05-83. Access management
05-9. State the purpose, objectives and scope for:
05-91. The seven-step improvement process
ITILFND06 Functions
06-1. Explain the role, objectives and organizational structures for
  • The service desk function
06-2. State the role and objectives of:
  • The technical management function
  • The application management function
  • The IT operations management function (IT operations control and facilities management)
07-1. Account for the role and the responsibilities of the
  • Process owner
  • Process manager
  • Process practitioner
  • Service owner
07-2. Recognize the (RACI) responsibility model and explain its role in determining organizational structure.
ITILFND08 Technology and architecture
08-2. Understand how service automation assists with expediting service management processes
ITILFND09 Competence and training
09-1. Competence and skills for service management
09-2. Competence and skills framework
09-3. Training
ITILFND10 Mock exam
10-1. Sit a minimum of one ITIL Foundation mock exam.

This is updated by the Official ITIL Site and can be found on the link below:
If you have enjoyed this entry. Please feel free to bookmark it using your favorite social bookmarking site

2 Responses so far

  • JohnSmith says:

    ITIL helps you to realise improvements including cost reductions in service delivery, enhancements in processes, improved measurement and reporting as well as continually driving up the quality of IT Services.ITIL Foundation Certification

  • Tony says:

    Really wonderful blog about the ITIL Foundation Certification syllabus,very useful information,truly i felt happy when i was read this.Thanks for this post.

  • Post a Comment